Posted by: krittikae | March 1, 2010

Nature’s Revenge

It was a beautiful Saturday morning in Houston TX. Work was peaceful. Most of my volunteers had already arrived, and it was early yet. The sun was shining, and a gentle breeze made for a pleasant day. I decided to open the door, and enjoy Nature’s wonder.

Nature didn’t like that apparently.

A bird flew into Meals on Wheels. And proceeded to get stuck between a ledge and the window.

It scared the crap out of me! I grew up in the country, but I’ve never been 3 feet away from a panicking bird that got stuck behind a ledge.

Naturally, I turn to the only other person in the entire building – the sheriff’s deputy working the front desk. This brought back memories of the time a bat got into our house when I was a kid, and the sheriff’s deputy that came out was formidably wielding a tennis racquet. (Mom got tennis racquets for years afterwards as gag gifts.)

This sheriff’s deputy obviously did not read the handbook. His response to my slight freaking out concern was, “Leave the door open. It’ll fly out.” Uh, not if it’s stuck, Sherlock.

Visions of a poor little dead bird on Monday morning brought me to try to free it myself. It turns out the ledge doesn’t actually move AWAY from the window. After about 5 minutes of trying, one of my last volunteers showed up. I obviously looked panicky, because he took pity on me AND the bird.

Thank God for volunteers who are brave enough to fish the little bugger out, catch him twice, and carry him outside.

I kid you not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

