Posted by: krittikae | October 20, 2010

Homesick for the OH

Things have been conspiring lately to make me feel homesick for Ohio. It’s not that I miss my family, which of course I do, but it’s the little things. The things I took for granted living my whole life in NW Ohio.

I miss fall. I miss the leaves changing and bonfires and freezing my butt off at football games.

I miss elephant ears. Oh dear Lord, elephant ears. Do you know that no one in Texas knows what I’m talking about? A little fried dough plus cinnamon sugar. Mmmmm.

Pepsi Icees. I think I miss you most of all. I spent my whole childhood buying them for 25 – 50 cents. They came with a pretzel stick which sounds gross, but was so good. Coke Icees have nothing on these.

All of that, I could somewhat replicate here, either by making my own elephant ears and icees, or by putting a picture of leaves on my computer desktop. But then a few weeks ago, tragedy struck my small community. One of our own perished. Our beloved playground was a victim of arson.

This is how it used to look:

I don’t know who these people are, but it works.

This is what it looks like now:

Now I’ve spent my time thinking about building that playground. Kids my age were the ones that got to design it. So naturally, we have a zip line, a bunch of cars, buses, and trucks, and a teepee. We were pretty original kids.

I’ve spent the last couple weeks idly thinking about my hometown, the places I used to go, and the things I used to do. At the time, I couldn’t wait to grow up and move away. “There’s nothing to do here,” I used to complain.

Now I live in the 4th largest city in the country, and I miss the quiet. I miss not having to lock my car doors, house doors, or locker doors. I miss getting anywhere in town in less than 5 minutes. The Hubs and I hope to make it back to Ohio early next spring for a visit. I’m hoping I can drive through Bryan and reminisce. It’ll only take about 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

