Posted by: krittikae | October 28, 2010

A Letter to my Mother

As I begin this post, you are in the hospital. When I finish it, you will be gone.

==================================================

Today is Wednesday, October 27th. You’ve been in the hospital for about two weeks at this point, but you’ve been in and out of the hospital for the past few years. This time was different. More serious. I think you knew it was time. Dad will take you off life support today, and we’ll let you go. We might not make it to your side before you’re gone, but we are all with you, every moment.

Dad won’t be alone. There’s nothing to be afraid of. We’ll keep him near us until it’s time for him to return to you. We have an eternal family, and all of us are so grateful to you and Dad for making that possible.

I was reading your favorite scripture today. “Charity suffereth long, and is kind.” and “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. (1 Cor 13: 4, 11)” I think I understand you better now than I ever have before. I understand some of the choices you’ve made, some of your hopes and fears. I also understand now why this is your favorite scripture. You’ve always done things for others: Dad, us girls, your patients, people around you… That’s always been how you’ve shown your love.

I’ve been wrapped in my memories of you today. I remember when I was little, around 8 or 9. Dad used to drop me off at the nursing home where you worked, and you would take me to school on your way home. Sometimes we’d stop for donuts or brownies. Breakfast of champions, but it was just you and me.

I remember you teaching me things. To read music, play the piano, to knit and sew. You were always so happy working on a project. I can see that now. You were always working on something, with another few things in your knitting basket, waiting for your attention. You taught me to cook and bake, even though I’m pretty sure it wasn’t your favorite thing to do. You taught me how to clean, even though I’m certain it was your least favorite thing to do.

I think our best times together were when I was in school. I know you were proud of me. I loved that you were only an hour away. Sometimes you’d come up for a day of shopping and lunch with me. You came to lots of our college football games. You were always such a great band parent. The other girls always envied me. Did you know that? Did I ever tell you how cool of a mom you are?

Every time I’d come home for a weekend, you’d tell me what food was in the house. I’d roll my eyes and tell you I’m 2- years old, I can find food, but secretly I loved it. You never outgrow wanting your Mom to take care of you. Lots of times you’d have makeup or jewelry that you saw in an Avon catalog, just waiting for me. You’d always say “I saw it and thought of you.” I’m wearing one of those bracelets today. Every time I see it, I think of you. I always will.

==================================================

Laughter seems wrong, but you know us. We like to laugh and we’re all really funny. We got that from Dad. Will you be mad if we laugh after you’re gone? Today is Thursday, October 28, and you just left us. It was peaceful. Andi was there, and you weren’t in pain. We’re all so grateful for that. We knew, really, that you would only stay as long as you needed… until you were ready. Now you are home, healed, and happy.

Here’s the obituary I wrote for you Mom. I didn’t want a stranger to write it. I wanted it to feel as full of love as you always made us feel. It’s our turn to take care of you. We will always love you. We will be with you again.

==================================================

Sharon Kae Good Stephenson 9/16/47 – 10/28/10

Sharon Stephenson, age 63, passed away on October 28, 2010 at the Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland Ohio. She was a former resident of Bryan Ohio, where her four daughters graduated from Bryan High School, and spent the latter part of her life in Fostoria Ohio.

A nurse by profession, Sharon spent her life taking care of others, whether it was her patients, her husband and daughters, or her friends and neighbors. Sharon believed that nurturing others showed her love for them, a feeling that is echoed by her favorite scripture. 1 Cor. 13 “Charity suffereth long, and is kind… beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Charity never faileth…”

Sharon spent her free time immersed in hobbies that she loved and shared with her daughters. Sharon had a beautiful singing voice, and often played the piano for her church services. She was also fond of sewing, knitting, and crosstitching, and could often be found making gifts for her family and friends. She loved card games, word puzzles, spending time with her family, and gardening with her husband.

Sharon is survived by her husband of 45 years, Edward Stephenson, by her daughters, Andrea Davidson of South Jordan, UT, Jennifer Adams of West Jordan, UT, Elizabeth Miller of Chino Hills, CA, and Kristen Slawinski of Houston TX. She is also survived by her parents, Edwin and Patricia Good, two brothers, Edwin Good Jr. and Jeffrey Good, a sister, Leila Taylor, and 7 grandchildren.

“But charity is the pure love of Christ, and it endureth forever; and whoso is found possessed of it at the last day, it shall be well with him.” Moroni 7:47

Responses

  1. Kristi you so beautifully said how much that you loved your mom. Just know that she was loved so very much. Be there for your dad now and your other sisters…also your Grandma and Grandpa Good are going to need extra hugs and kisses. Keeping all of you in my toughts and prayers. I am sure my mom met your mom at Heaven’s gate and welcomed her with loving arms. Love to you all!

  2. I love you. Even more than I did before.


Leave a Reply

Categories

