Posted by: krittikae | April 28, 2011

6 months, still going…

It’s been 6 months since Mom died. I haven’t posted anything lately, because pretty much anything I would have had to write about would have just been how much I miss Mom. I still do, every single day.

Two of my close friends are pregnant, and I decided to make each of them a gift – a birth record cross stitch. Looking back, I can remember Mom always making baby blankets for people, or working on half a dozen things at the same time. Her craft basket always seemed like a treasure trove to me.

Anyway, since I was feeling especially close to her, I was rereading some of the posts from my sisters and my aunt. I noticed they want to see Mom’s journal too. Well, seeing as I live at least 1400 miles from any of them, and the Sisterhood of the Traveling Journal would probably cost a lot in postage, I decided to type Mom’s journal in this blog. It’s going to take me awhile. I’ll try to scan some things too, if the scanner cooperates. We don’t have a very high-res scanner in the office, so I’ll try to figure out a different method.

She has several, um, interesting mementos in the back of the journal. An old Mother’s Day card circa 1990 from someone, where they stuck a picture of us girls in it. A program featuring Miss Beth Stephenson in a jazz saxophone ensemble. A flier with me as the November Citizen of the Month …. in 3rd grade. Gosh, I love that woman.

Leave a Reply

Categories

